High Court

The High Court is the highest court in Australia. The full name for the High Court is the High Court of Australia. It consists of the Chief Justice and six other Justices appointed by the Governor-General by commission. It was created by Section 71 of the Australian Constitution in 1901. For further information, see the High Court of Australia Act 1979 (Cth)and the High Court's website.