Go to content

Annual Report 2011 - 2012

Board members

1 July 2011 – 30 June 2012

The Hon Peter Collins

Hon Peter Collins AM QC (Chair)


Appointed by the Attorney General as Chair. A Barrister and ABC journalist before his election to the NSW Parliament, Peter served for 22 years in senior roles including Minister for Health, Attorney General and Treasurer of NSW during his seven years in the Greiner/Fahey Governments, and a further six years as Deputy Leader and Leader of the Opposition, before leaving the Parliament in 2003.

He has been a Director of the leading industry superannuation fund HOSTPLUS since 2006. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees and chairs both the Sydney Financial Forum and Barton Deakin Government Relations consultancy firm.

For his public service, Peter Collins was made a Member of the Order of Australia (2004) and a Commander in the Order of St John (2012). He has also received the Centenary Medal.

(Attended 6 meetings)

Bill Grant

Bill Grant CEO Legal Aid NSW


Appointed by the Attorney General as CEO in December 2011. See biography in Executive directors.

(Attended 3 meetings – February to June 2012)

Alan Kirkland

Alan Kirkland


Appointed by the Attorney General as CEO in 2008 and served in that position until October 2011.

(Attended 1 meeting in August 2011)

Richard Funston

Richard Fnuston

BComm LLB EMPA (See biography in Executive directors).

(Attended 2 meetings in October and November 2011 as Acting CEO)

Rev Harry Herbert

Rev Harry Herbert BA BD STM Dip.Legal Studies

BA BD STM Dip. Legal Studies

Appointed by the Attorney General to represent consumer and community welfare, Harry is Executive Director of UnitingCare NSW, ACT. He also chairs the NSW Responsible Gambling Fund and is Co-Chair of the AGL Customer Council, and is a member of the Boarding House Expert Advisory Group. He is the longest serving member on the Board.

(Attended 5 meetings)

Philip Bickerstaff

Philip Bickerstaff, MCom


Phillip retired from the NSW Public Sector in 2005 after 37 years, 29 of those with NSW Treasury. He was appointed to the Board in 2005 and chairs the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee. He is also a member of the Board of the Festival Development Corporation, Ryde Family Support Service and Fairfield Community Resource Centre.

(Attended 5 meetings)

Andrea Durbach

Associate Professor Andrea Durbach BA LLB, DipLaw (SAB, USyd)

BA LLB, DipLaw (SAB, USyd)

Andrea is Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law, UNSW and Director of the Australian Human Rights Centre. Previously, she was Director of the Public Interest Advocacy Centre and Coordinator of the Public Interest Law Clearing House. She is also Chair of the Legal Aid NSW Human Rights Committee and member of the Advisory Council of Jurists of the Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions.

(Attended 4 meetings)

John Bordon

John Bordon BA LlB(Syd) LlM(UNSW)


John is nominated by Unions NSW. In the past he has held a number of positions on the staff of Legal Aid NSW. Currently he is a senior member of the Consumer Trader and Tenancy Tribunal. He has also served on a number of other bodies including the Serious Offenders Review Council and the Immigration Review Tribunal.

(Attended 6 meetings)

Ian McClintock

Ian McClintock BA LLB (UNSW) SC, Barrister


Nominated by the NSW Bar Association, Ian practises as a barrister principally in criminal law. Ian was involved in establishing Redfern Legal Centre. He worked as a Legal Aid NSW lawyer in the 1980s, in the Attorney General’s Department in the Criminal Law Review Division before returning to Legal Aid NSW and then going to the Bar. He is a founding member of Forbes Chambers which specialises in criminal law.

(Attended 5 meetings)

(Alternate: Phillip Boulten SC)

Maria Girdler

Maria Girdler


Nominated by Community Legal Centres NSW and appointed by the Attorney General to represent bodies that provide community legal services, Maria is the Manager of Macquarie Legal Centre, and has held this position for 14 years. Before that she worked at Macarthur Legal Centre for two years.

Maria has held various roles at the Anti-Discrimination Board, the Human Rights Commission, the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and a number of State and Federal government departments.

(Attended 5 meetings)

(Alternate: Patrick O’Callaghan)

Mary Macken

Mary Macken, MA LLM (Syd) FAICDn


Nominated by the Law Society of NSW, Mary is the immediate past President of the Law Society of NSW and a practising lawyer in New South Wales, England and Wales.

Mary initially specialised in the commercial property field. Since then, her roles have included Manager of Legal Services, Landcom and Corporate Counsel, State Transit Authority (Sydney Buses). Mary is a member of the Women Lawyers Association of NSW, the Australian Lawyers Alliance and the City of Sydney Law Society.

(Attended 5 meetings)

Barbara Ramjan

Barbara Ramjan BA(Hons)(UniSyd); GradDipCrim(UniSyd); BTeach(UWS); MHL(UniSyd)

BA(Hons)(UniSyd); GradDipCrim(UniSyd); BTeach(UWS); MHL(UniSyd)

Appointed by the Attorney General, Barbara has appeared as a Guardian ad Litem in the Children’s Court and Administrative Decisions Tribunal, as well as filling this role in many other courts and tribunals. Barbara is a member of the Children’s Court Advisory Committee, providing advice to the Attorney General and the Minister for Community Services on the workings of the Court.

(Attended 5 meetings)